Baltic and Eastern European Ritterorden


Baltic and Eastern European Ritterorden, also known as the Teutonic Order / Deutscher Ritterorden, more formally known as “Order of the House of St. Mary of the Germans in Jerusalem, portrays the Order during two time periods:

1189 to 1220

The early years from the birth of the Teutonic Order in Jerusalem after their victorious siege of Acre prior to Emperor Frederick II taking the Order under his special protection in 1221.

1380 to 1410

This time in history is when the Teutonic Order was at its height, the European Empire lands included Germany, Poland, Prussi a, Lithuania, Italy, parts of France & north to the Gulf of Finland. 1410 witnessed the crushing defeat of the Order at Tannenberg.




The Order of the Teutonic Knights of St. Mary’s Hospital in Jerusalem (Official names: Latin: Ordo domus Sanctæ Mariæ Theutonicorum Hierosolymitanorum, German: Orden der Brüder vom Deutschen Haus St. Mariens in Jerusalem), or for short the Teutonic Order (Today: German Teutonic Order), was a Two armed German Roman Catholic Order of Knights made up of a Religious Arm and a Secular Arm.

It was formed to aid Catholics on their pilgrimages to the Holy Land and to establish hospitals to care for the sick and injured. Its members have commonly been known as the Teutonic Knights, since they also served as a crusading military order during the Middle Ages.